Darkness: a Beautiful Thing?

Cavern

As I walk into the Phantom’s lair I feel I chill rush through me. I stop and look around the room. It is incredibly dark. The only lighting in all of the Phantom’s mysterious hideaway, is an immense chandelier hanging from the cracked ceiling. Only three candles are lit. The floor is rough, worn out cement. And the walls are a deep crimson red with black designs scattered throughout. I can tell the room is bigger than the eye can see because of the faint sight of candle light far in the distance.

I turn back to see the Phantom lingering further and further into the darkness. I slowly follow him deeper into his realm of despair.
I then hear a faint sound ahead of us. I can’t tell what it is yet. Wind? No it couldn’t be. Not all the way down here. My curiosity directs me to the noise faster. I try to go as fast as I can without daring to pass in front of the Phantom himself.

As we near the end of the lair my eyes wander around the room. But before I can look at anything too closely I hear the sound again, this time loudly erupting from the ground.

“Water,” I say out loud.

I cover my mouth quickly; but instead of seeing rage building inside the Phantom, I see him nod slowely. I walk as close to the ledge as I can, without falling in. The water seems haunting yet soothing in a way I don’t seem to understand.

Pitch black

Pitch black is all I can see. There is no clear marveling river—not at all— in fact I cant see the river at all. The only reason I can say it is water is because of the thundering sound echoing in the cavern. The darkness frightens me for moment, but for some strange reason it soothes me now. I didn’t know how something that seemed so frightening could be so beautiful.

Maybe the dark isn’t what we make it out to be. And maybe, the Phantom isn’t what we make him out to be.

4 thoughts on “Darkness: a Beautiful Thing?

  1. I like the way you use your paragraphing to really set the mood. The one or two word paragraphs really help set the mood in my mind.

  2. “As I walk into the Phantom’s lair I feel I chill rush through me. I stop and look around the room. It is incredibly dark. The only lighting in all of the Phantom’s mysterious hideaway, is an immense chandelier hanging from the cracked ceiling.” This is just one example but I loved how you were so descriptive! I really felt like I was right there in Christine’s position!

    Great post!!

  3. I like how you say “Pitch black” as its own paragraph. Great lead, you had me hook as soon as I read the first sentence 🙂 Those last two sentences were amazing. ” I didn’t know how something that seemed so frightening could be so beautiful. Maybe the dark isn’t what we make it out to be. And maybe, the Phantom isn’t what we make him out to be.’ Great job!

  4. I really like how you said,” realm of despair” because it gives your essay the feeling that the phantoms lair is the type of place where evil is at.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *