First Day

And we’re off!

My students and I began a wonderful new year of learning together with a discussion of a few welcome-to-school letters, including this one sent to us by John Green:

John makes some interesting points about the importance of public education, a topic that’s been in the news quite a bit lately. We’re fortunate to have a great school here at West Ridge, and I’m excited about the year ahead as we begin this seventh grade journey together.

What are your thoughts about John Green’s message? Does he say something in particular that resonates with you?

This entry was posted in Teacher Notes and tagged by Mrs. Kriese. Bookmark the permalink.

About Mrs. Kriese

I am a seventh grade teacher in Austin, Texas, and a teacher consultant with the Central Texas Writing Project, an affiliate of the National Writing Project. I enjoy writing alongside my students, participating with them in the work we are doing as a community of readers and writers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *