One Candle

West Van Seacave

I crawled into the most magnificent cavern I had ever seen. It was lined with flickering candles, bookshelves full of scores, and more! There was an alcove to where a steady stream of water flowed through and flowed into a recess in the floor. I tiptoed over to the recess and felt it. It was solid. Is this porous rock? No, it couldn’t be. No rock can let water flow that fast. I felt a cold wet wind blow over me.

The water stopped flowing. I looked up and where the alcove had been– was just darkness. I felt a peculiar urge to venture forth. The second I passed this point of darkness I felt a cold wet settle over me. Slowly and deftly, I tiptoed into the hidden room. Here lay a spray-painted-gold throne, rusty rotten broken organ, and a lopsided three-legged table. The only light came from a tiny hole in the ceiling. And that shined on  a stack of music and scores.

When I came to, I saw nothing at first. Just darkness. It’s okay I tell myself. It’s okay. Then I saw one flickering candle. One. Wow. This guy must be poor. Organ music blared from within the darkness. Mist spewed from unseen vents and cracks. (I found this out when I tripped over one) As I ventured closer and closer to the music, I saw the darkness past this point and saw the faintly illuminated sign — Pass this point and it is brighter with your eyes closed. Not knowing what else to do but to follow this music, I plunged into the darkness.

Creative Commons License Photo Credit: Dru! via Compfight

2 thoughts on “One Candle

  1. I love your choice of words for the description of the Phantom’s Lair. “Here lay a spray-painted-gold throne, rusty rotten broken organ, and a lopsided three-legged table.”. This shows great imagery to the reader. This is a wonderful piece of writing! Well done:)

  2. I really like how you described the lair with a little bit of softness. It wasn’t as scary to this Christine and that’s where I think your voice came in. She was really amazed by this cave instead of really scared. I love how in the end you left the reader on a cliff hanger- “Not knowing what else to do but to follow this music, I plunged into the darkness”. I loved that sentence.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *